FallCon: 7 Days Later

FallCon Gaming Society - Saturday, October 05, 2013

We're still buzzing from last weekend. Another record year for attendees and another record year for family passes. We hope you're still buzzing too: eager to let us know what we did right and what could be done better for next year. 

Yesterday, if you're part of our newsletter subscribers you would have received a link to a survey we run annual. Amazingly, in 24 hrs we've already received 83 responses. And that's with some of you having some issues with the link we sent. For whatever reason, some folks are getting a blank page when they attempt to navigate to the survey page on our website. I suspect browser issues for the most part so I'm going to provide another clean link here that should work for everyone. 

As a reminder, you have until Monday October 14th, 2013 to fill the survey in order to be eligible for the draw for the $100 gift certificate at the game retailer of your choice. Best of luck to all survey participants. We'll share the results and the winner of the draw on Monday October 21st.


A Bevy of Choices

FallCon Gaming Society - Monday, September 23, 2013
Game Libraryt

We're proud to present two wonderful examples of the tyranny of choice. First, the FallCon 26 Game Library List

Lovingly (some might say "obsessively") assembled by Darren and his crack squad of game library assemblers, this year's offering of over 690 games is certain to make you go "wow...that's a lot of games." This of course, is a good reminder that with your pass, you can stop in at the library and sign out any game you wish over the course of the weekend. Our crew of gaming ambassadors may not be able to teach every game in the library, but I'm guessing we'd come pretty darn close to that mark. 

Secondly, is the food concession menu for the weekend. As usual, the Commonwealth Centre will have their cash concession open during most of the convention. We've also arranged for free water service throughout the weekend. We do ask that no outside food be brought into the convention space as that is one of our venue rental conditions. 

FallCon should provide you plenty of opportunities to chose your love and to love your choice. :)


The Parking Sitrep

FallCon Gaming Society - Sunday, September 22, 2013

Our venue host has only recently alerted us to restrictions in parking due to construction surrounding the Commonwealth Centre, that they had originally anticipated to be completed by the end of summer. As such, we urge as many of you as possible to carpool or take transit over the FallCon weekend.

With respect to transit, the McKnight-Westwinds station on the NE LRT line is a 10-15 minute walk away from Commonwealth Centre. The station also offers the 95 Bus Route that drives by the Commonwealth Centre. On Friday, the 95 operates every 15 minutes until 7pm, and then every 30 minutes until midnight. Saturday and Sunday the 95 operates on a 30 minute weekend schedule. The stop ID for the bus if you want to route plan via the Calgary Transit website is #7104.

As for parking, Commonwealth has identified 207 stalls onsite and at nearby businesses to the SW, as well as 30 roadside parking spaces along Westwinds Drive and 40th Street NE.  They've specifically instructed our guests to NOT park in the businesses to the North of Commonwealth as they have not come to a parking agreement with these establishments. For more details, please refer to this PDF from Commonwealth.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause our attendees this year.


Ticket to Ride Event and 2014 FallCon Dates

FallCon Gaming Society - Friday, September 20, 2013
Flea Market

While our core volunteer team is currently fixated on our convention next weekend, we've got a commitment to bring people and games together throughout the year. We call that initiative FallCon365.

As part of the initiative, we're happy to give you advance warning of our next big event: a Ticket to Ride 10th Year Anniversary play date. On November 16th at the Lake Bonavista Promenade Mall, we'll be hosting a Regional Qualifier for the North American Ticket to Ride Championships. Details are available on the publisher's website and our Eventbrite page but essentially the winner of our Calgary Regionals will get free entry into GenCon2014 where the North American Finals will take place. The winner of the GenCon Finals will get an all expense paid trip to the World Championships in Paris. The ultimate winner will receive an amazing trip on the Orient Express!

We are currently selling tickets for the Calgary Ticket to Ride event via Eventbrite. Our tickets are $10 for individuals and $20 for families of 4 or less. Couples can get in for $15 with a super secret coupon code (which we'll reveal upon email request). Proceeds will be going to a charity (yet to be selected by the venue host). Participants 18 and older are eligible for the tournament prizes but we want to make this a family friendly event so we're working on getting participation prizes for all ages. We'll also have open gaming for passersby or people who just happen to drop in.

We have also secured our dates for FallCon 27: October 3-5, 2014. For the first time in FallCon history, you'll be able to buy tickets for next year, with cash or credit and at this year's early bird prices! We'll also be setup to sell tickets for the Ticket to Ride event. Just ask at our registration desk and they'll set you up!


What is FallCon?

FallCon is a boardgame and tabletop miniatures convention for the masses held every fall in Calgary. Consider FallCon a philosophical extension to those fun Friday game nights you spend with family and friends! Against a backdrop of fun and friendly competition, gamers young and old are invited to join us in playing some of the best games available today.

October 3-5, 2014

Commonwealth Centre

3961 52nd Avenue NE #1177
Calgary, AB

Pass Info

Weekend Pass - $50

Family Weekend Pass - $80

Friday Pass - $20      6:00pm-12:00am

Saturday Pass - $30   8:00am-12:00am

Sunday Pass - $20     9:00am-4:00pm

Never Too Early For A Countdown

Recent Posts


Web Statistics